Why BJJ is Good for Your Resume

Posted: November 29, 2014 in BJJ Advice
Tags: , , , ,

BJJ RESUME

Lately I have been on the job search. Thus, I have been updating my resume, creating cover letters, etc. During this time it’s given me a chance to reflect on my past work experience, extracurricular history, etc. and I’ve realized that the last four years of Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu has made a substantial impact on my life in many ways, even professionally. In this post I want to show you that BJJ is not only an amazing life enhancing martial art but also a career boosting activity. Below are the reasons I think recruiters should pay extra attention to practitioners of BJJ.

Humble

Nothing is more humbling than Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu. The mats are a place where egos are crushed and reality is faced every day. The humble culture of BJJ is a result of this and it is one of the most prevalent traits of the art. Being humble translates directly into the workplace and is extremely beneficial when working on a team.

Driven

Being driven is a requirement for BJJ. To effectively learn the sport, win tournaments, compete in MMA fights or even move up rank one must be exceptionally driven to do so. BJJ has a history with weeding undetermined people out of the art. In fact, the turnover rate of BJJ is astounding at the white belt level.

Technical

For outsiders, BJJ could look like a simple scramble. However, to put things in perspective, for the very first belt test in BJJ one usually has to perform 65 moves. This might not seem like much but each move can have anywhere from five to 10 steps, so really it’s a demonstration of up to 650 technical movements – and that’s just for the blue belt. Practicing BJJ drastically enhances one’s ability to learn, communicate and effectively enact technical procedures which can directly tie to the professional world.

Composed

Do you think an end of day deadline is tough after resisting hundreds of chokes and near injury situations weekly? That’s I was thinking too. In BJJ one is constantly faced with reality much more real than some face in a professional setting. This intensity puts the rest of life into perspective and it allows for most stressful situations to be seemingly less drastic.

BJJ is an amazing resume builder because it encompasses all of the traits above and much more. It can set you apart from the competition and show you are passionate about something. Next time you have to build out a resume, I hope you include your belt rank on it to tap out your job search!

Comments
  1. It’s not something I’d ever really thought of, but you’ve made some really good points here.

    • karmeb26 says:

      Thanks dude! Yeah, I think it’s valuable on the resume and I had my belt rank on mine recently and got an interview with Google (no job sadly) so it can’t hurt you!

  2. Pat says:

    I work in federal law enforcement. I’ve had bjj on my resume from the day I started.

  3. lawniss says:

    I think that BJJ makes you really determined but realistically so. You learn not to give up a tap just because you’re tired; you learn to try to escape and regain control. At the same time you learn that you have to tap and not be unreasonably stubborn.

Leave a Reply

