Advice from a White Belt Champion: Morgan Miller

Posted: March 19, 2014 in Interviews
Tags: , , , ,

1959937_771547426190039_1028014984_n

There are a lot of interviews with Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu black belts on the web, however, there are very few of lower belt levels – especially when it comes to women. I feel like hearing what a black belt has to say sometimes isn’t as relatable as someone closer to my own belt level. That’s why I wanted to gain some insight into the advanced white belt world from Morgan Miller. She is a white belt that has recently been tearing up the female featherweight division. In fact, she just placed third in the Pan Ams last week!  I decided to reach out to her to see what advice she could give women at the white belt level in BJJ.

The interview is as follows:

Q: Why do you think women should do BJJ?

A: BJJ is a great sport for women. Its not only an awesome workout to help you get into amazing shape but a great form of self defense. I’ve also noticed it helps build confidence in women as they learn and develop skills that make them feel more safe and secure.

Q: What is your training schedule like?

A: I train BJJ every day, as well as an hour of cardio everyday (45 minutes on elliptical, 15 minutes on an exercise bike). I also do strength training 4 days a week.

1185858_713500298665305_1748177182_n

Q: What are your favorite techniques?

A: I really like scissor sweeps, arm bars and triangles.

Q: How do you prepare mentally for a tournament?

A: I have a great support system to help me get mentally prepared for tournaments. My coach, my teammates, and my brother all help to keep me focused. The best advice I could give someone just starting with tournaments is to find someone to do it them with. I am very lucky to have a brother that competes with me. Everything from the prep for tournaments such as the diets (link to the book she uses here) to the day of the tournaments. I try to remain focused yet relaxed. I don’t allow myself to feel nervous or a great deal of pressure because then I will not perform to the best of my ability. I keep myself mentally prepared, focused, relaxed, and determined.

Q: How do you deal with guys hitting on you at the gym?

A: I take my training very seriously and I simply make it clear that I am there to train. Thankfully the guys that I train with are usually very nice guys that respect me and my training.

Q: Do you have any other advice you would give to a woman starting in BJJ?

1926872_691220020942841_345728554_n

A: For women just starting out the best advice I can give is to train as much as possible. The more you train the better you will get. Keep yourself determined and enjoy the sport.

To follow Morgan and her brother’s BJJ career follow them on Facebook!

Comments
  1. Mark says:

    Awesome Article, need more of these. I really like the advice of finding someone to do the tournaments with you, great point.

  2. Richard says:

    Great Interview. The best advice I can think of for beginners is; never stop being a beginner, and persistence. One keeps you interested in the game, and the other one will keep the creeps away. At first you’re the shinny new toy, but that will eventually fades when people see that you’re there for training, not socializing. It also doesn’t hurt to tell people why you’re there. Once they see that your serious they tend to lay off rather quickly. I am not saying it’s the cure, but it’s definitely an ounce of prevention. Stay Safe! Train Hard! Jiu Jitsu is the best investment you will ever make for yourself.

Leave a Reply

