Combat Skin Rashguard and Shorts Review

Posted: February 23, 2014 in Product Reviews
Tags: , , , ,

photo (1)

Combat Skin Rashguard and Shorts Review

When I was asked to review some No Gi gear from Combat Skin I was extremely excited because I had been recently eying up their new stuff. I have never been the guy to buy rash guards or fight shorts – mostly because I am in college and in debt – but after using the gear for No Gi training and having the rashguard on under my gi, I don’t think I could live without them.

photo (2)

First Impression

photo (1)This is a picture I took of my initial reaction when I put the rashguard on. I noticed how excited I was so I captured the moment! When I took the rashguard out of the badass packaging and put it on, I literally didn’t take it off that afternoon. In fact, I did my homework in it – you can laugh if you must. It’s a comfy rashguard to say the least and has a composition of 80% Polyester and 20% Lycra. I also really liked the shorts. What I noticed when first trying the shorts on is how nicely they sit and stay on my hips. I was also really impressed with how the shorts were structured to allow for great leg mobility with stretchy fabric running through the inner leg to crotch areas – extremely well said I know.

Rolling in the Gear

I’m not sure if the gear was so cool that my opponents were distracted or I have just been really executing my game well lately, but I swear I hit more triangles when I roll with combat skin gear – I dress for success! But in all seriousness the gear performed well. The rashguard’s torso is really long so it doesn’t come up past your waistline at all when rolling which is great. Also, the shorts have a rubber surface on the inside of the waistline that keeps the rashguard tucked in as well as keep the shorts from moving. The only thing that bothered me was the neck was slightly snug, but then again, I am used to wearing T-shirts when I roll. Overall, my rolling experience of eight to nine times with this gear has been great.

Overall Ratings

Durability: High

Badass Level: Level 1000

Shrinkage: None 

Cost: $50-$55

Final Thoughts

Overall this gear is a great buy. It’s high end gear that will last you years that has a medium level price. Not only is it durable, but it has original artwork by Meerkatsu on it, which is tough to beat. I would recommend and have already recommended this gear to my training partners and university BJJ club members. If you have any questions about the gear, let me know!

Where do I buy it?

www.combatskin.com

Screen Shot 2014-02-22 at 5.38.50 PM

Comments
  1. Rod says:

    Wild design! Will leave an impression!

Leave a Reply

