BJJ Grocery Shopping: What to Eat Before You Train

Posted: March 4, 2013 in BJJ Advice
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Image

BJJ Grocery Shopping: What to Eat Before You Train

There are a lot of articles about what to eat before training sessions. Some of these articles promote certain products or supplements that endorse the writers. A lot of articles also talk about the absolute healthiest expensive organic foods one can consume. I have always felt like these articles were unrealistic to me because I have never had the time or money to cook foods like quinoa or drink expensive pre workout shakes before every workout. After finding credible sources including Athlete’s Performance and Greatist.com, I have compiled my top five most realistic and cost effective foods to eat before training in BJJ or any workout. These foods will give your body the correct 3:1 carbohydrate to protein ratio needed for intense training while saving you time and money. All of the foods can be easily found at any grocery store.

1. Apple and Peanut Butter: This isn’t just a great snack from your childhood. The 20 grams of carbohydrates and six grams of protein per serving from this combination is great for a quick boost.

Image

 

2. Eggs and toast: If you have a little extra time on your hands to make some eggs and toast, I would recommend it. Eggs are packed with protein. One cup contains nearly 41 grams of protein!

3. Chicken and Sweet Potatoes: Sweet potatoes are not given enough street credit. A cup of sweet potatoes has 41 grams of natural vitamin filled carbohydrates. This awesome carbohydrate source can help get you that last second submission when you are exhausted.

Image

4. Peanut Butter and Banana Toast: This is currently my normal pre workout food and I can say that it works very well for me. The nearly 50 grams of carbohydrates are great fuel for long training sessions.

5. Fruit Juice and Whey ProteinA serving of weigh protein mixed with fruit juice is great before your workout and is more effective then most people think. It gives you a great charge of energy without the crash of the usual pre workout liquid shake mixes.

Image

These are my top five cost efficient pre workout foods, what are yours?

Comments
  1. Jon says:

    I think it’s also important to note the best time to eat before a workout or competition. Talking to a trainer at my workout club a couple days ago, she advised about 4 hours as optimal. I can eat a small meal an hour or two before an intense workout without my innards acting up. Also, protein for after a workout and carbs beforehand was another tip I gleaned from the trainer. What do you think?

    • karmeb26 says:

      I definitely agree that the pre workout formulas vary for each individual. I personally can eat 30 minutes before a workout and be completely fine, and that is usually the time frame when I would have one of the five pre workout snacks I listed.

Leave a Reply

