3 Reasons why you should do Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu

Posted: February 7, 2013 in BJJ Advice
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Image

Top 3 reasons you should do Brazilian-Jiu-Jitsu.

When I first started Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu in 2010, I had no idea what was in store for me. It all started one day when I was walking aimlessly past a MMA gym in Oshkosh, Wisconsin. I had no athletic clothes and was wearing jeans when I peaked in. Immediately a very intimidating ripped dude told me to, “come on in” so I did. I was then thrown to the ground and told to awkwardly wrap my legs around some sweaty man-child and the rest is history. Now that I have experience in the sport, I have a great idea of why someone should start training in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu!

1. Learn to defend yourself! – Have you ever felt like you couldn’t defend yourself? Jiu-Jitsu was originally developed by the Samurai in Japan to defeat armored opponents without strikes. Later it was re-engineered by the Gracie family in Brazil for street fighting. It is the most efficient martial art in the world, just watch the first UFC.

2. Get in shape! – I would argue that BJJ is probably one of the best ways to get in shape. According to the cell phone app, myfitnesspal, in an hour of BJJ a person can burn 800-1000 calories. This is more calories then jogging or weight training. Personally, I have lost almost 20 lbs the last couple years and I have hardly changed my diet.

3. Make friends! – The community aspect of Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu is phenomenal. I have made some of the coolest and most loyal friends through my experiences with BJJ. When I go to train after a tough day it is almost like a therapy session. It’s not just about relieving pent up anger from fighting, it’s about being around a bunch of people who make sure you are doing well because you’re part of their BJJ family.

Get out and find a local gym to train at!

Comments
  1. 4) REPEAT!

    Jiu Jitsu is amazing! It is not just a martial art but it is a lifestyle, a lifestyle that will change you for the better.

Leave a Reply

