Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu: Basic Stretching Routine

Posted: April 5, 2013 in BJJ Advice
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

photo

Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu Basic Stretching Routine

Flexibility is something that is sometimes overlooked in the art of Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu. I would argue that flexibility is equal, if not more important than strength. Having good flexibility can help prevent injuries and allow you to perform a larger variety of techniques with ease. I have compiled a basic stretching routine that I use after I train to improve my flexibility. I don’t recommend stretching before training, rather do a dynamic warmup with running and movement drills. I do recommend stretching after training though to help improve flexibility when you are warm. Do each of these 30-60 seconds daily to boost your flexibility.

1. Butterfly stretch

photo-4

2. Cobra stretch

photo-3

3. Over the back stretch

photo-1

4. Child’s pose stretch

photo-2

5. 90/90 stretch

photo-5

6. Glute stretch

photo-6

7. Single leg hamstring stretch

photo

 This is my basic stretching routine, I want to add more. What stretches could I add?

Comments
  1. These are all poses I teach in yoga. Have you tried going to a local yoga class? If it’s a good class, you’ll learn a lot of great stretches AND learn how to improve your breathing techniques. :-)

  2. AnthonyR says:

    Reblogged this on Mountains to Mats and commented:
    Just what I’m looking for.

  3. Kim says:

    This is an awesome start! I would add some backbends and also some splits stretches, but thats mostly because I’m personally really focused on back and splits flexibility.

  4. karlyrose says:

    Reblogged this on Awkward. and commented:
    Just what I am looking for to start off my new exercises!

  5. [...] Valerie Worthington: Time On The Injured List Is Inevitable – How We Survive It Is A Choice BJJ Survival Guide: Basic Stretching Routine 7hour: The Original Berimbolo With Samuel Braga Paramount BJJ: Ankle Lock The National: UAE [...]

  6. Chris Cabiya says:

    I use these stretches every day. Great post!

  7. Rashad says:

    I want to express my thanks to you just for
    bailing me out of this particular matter. As a result of browsing throughout the internet and seeing tips that were not productive,
    I was thinking my entire life was gone. Existing devoid of the answers to
    the difficulties you’ve sorted out as a result of your posting is a critical case, and those which could have adversely affected my career if I hadn’t encountered your web page.
    The understanding and kindness in maneuvering every item was important.
    I am not sure what I would have done if I hadn’t come upon such a point like this. I can also at this point look ahead to my future. Thanks for your time so much for this impressive and effective guide. I won’t think twice to refer your web blog to anyone who should have guidelines on this topic.

  8. Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found
    that it is really informative. I am going to
    watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future.
    A lot of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  9. […] Stretching alone is not the remedy for flexibility problems.  It is a little bit of stretching and some strength as well. […]

Leave a Reply

